top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Gaither

Rico Nasty Flexes In Electrifying New Single "Lightning"

Updated: Nov 3, 2020


While the frightening Coronavirus continues to run amuck around the world, leaving many quarantined in their homes, what better a time to engage with music to maintain peace and sanity? With her debut album, "Nightmare Vacation" on the way, DMV's own, Rico Nasty is back with yet another larger-than-life song and visual. Released Tuesday (Mar. 17), Rico delivers another stimulating, futuristic visual as she flexes on her haters.


Produced by KC Supreme & Nick Mira, Rico goes berserk over the bass-heavy, hallucinogenic beat.


"I just spent two bands to get my hair did I ain't in the group so I ain't 'bout to share sh*t When I was growin' up you know I was the weird kid But I'ma Tesla drive myself, I gotta steer it."


Recounting the past when she was viewed as the "weird" kid, Rico easily reminds everyone who the head honcho is now. She reminds the haters and clowns that she is the innovator that they all aspire to be now. Rico uses her haters as a tool of motivation to continue to grind and stack her money. With unstoppable machine-gun delivery, she shuts her doubters up one by one as she flexes about her newfound stardom, riches, and success.


Her execution is pristine, her energy is high, and her confidence is untouched. As we reach the chorus she provides a contagious melody as she sings:


"They say they don't like me Bank account look frightening Bank account look lightning Lightning come and strike me if I'm lying."


The visual flawlessly matches the song's energy. Directed by Robert Henry, Nate P, and Anthony Brown, in the video, viewers see a young flashy Rico nasty, draped head-to-toe in designer with big wads of cash in her hands. The trippy visual display oozes throughout the entire futuristic video as Rico rides around in a cutting edge Tesla


"Lightning" follows after a string of singles released by the Rockstar such as, "IDGAF," "Hard," and even an appearance on 100 gecs, "ringtone" remix. The charismatic rapper's highly anticipated debut album, "Nightmare Vacation" is set to release sometime this year and we are ready to see what she has in store!



Check out the visual for / stream Rico Nasty's "Lightning," below!


36 views0 comments
bottom of page